Who is the US Trustee?

The Office of the U. S. Trustee was established by Congress in the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978.  It was intended to help regulate or supervise certain aspects of the bankruptcy process.  Congress makes policy decisions by passing laws; the Executive supervises the enforcement of laws passed by Congress.  The US Trustee was created as a division of the US Department of Justice, part of the Executive branch of government.

The US Trustee program consists of the Executive Office for U. S. Trustees (EOUST) which is located in Washington, DC; the regional offices located around the country; and the field offices located in each region.  (more…)